APOSTC AELECTS Applicants


Welcome to the APOSTC Website


IMPORTANT NOTICE – July 31, 2020

Click here to view the official APOSTC letter regarding Emergency Rule 650-X-2-.01.02ER.

650-X-2-.01.02ER Training during the COVID-19 State of Emergency.

Due to the ongoing state of emergency resulting from COVID-19, this Emergency Rule shall be effective for a minimum of 120 days unless extended by supplemental emergency proclamation by the Governor.

(1)  The Commission authorizes its Executive Secretary to suspend the enforcement of the statutory and regulatory requirements relating to provisionally appointed law enforcement officers completing certification training within six months of his or her provisional appointment. Specifically, relating to the six (6) month provisional appointment time for applicants, this emergency rule authorizes the Executive Secretary to waive the six month (180 days) requirement for provisionally appointed law enforcement officers to complete certification training and allow them to remain in their provisional appointment. A provisionally appointed officer, and their employing agency, is required to continue to submit their application for training and certification with the Commission.

All other rules and regulations relating to the provisional appointment of law enforcement officers shall remain in effect. Nothing in this emergency rule shall be construed to allow any person to perform the duties and functions of a certified law enforcement officer in the State of Alabama prior to valid certification by the Commission.

(2)  During the State of Emergency, the Commission authorizes the Executive Secretary to make emergency modifications to the academy curriculum as is deemed necessary in order to facilitate the training and certification of law enforcement applicants and appointees.

Author: R. Alan Benefield, Executive Secretary

Statutory Authority: Code of Ala. 1975, §§36-21-40 et seq. History: Effective July 27, 2020.


IMPORTANT NOTICE – July 14, 2020

Click here to view the official APOSTC letter regarding remote BAT Administration.

The Basic Ability Test (BAT) is available for remote administration.

 

Due to COVID-19, many testing centers operated by the Alabama Community Colleges have been forced to close.  As such, it has become difficult, if not impossible, for individuals to sit for the APOSTC Basic Ability Test (BAT).   Calhoun Community College (CCC) has established a process to administer the BAT/ACT Work-Keys, remotely.

 

If your agency has employees or applicants who need to take this examination, this option may be of interest to you.  In order to utilize this option, your agency will need a computer with internet connectivity, and your agency will be required to provide a supervisory officer to proctor (witness) the examination.   Payment for testing services can be made with a credit card, or CCC can bill your agency on a per test/monthly basis. 

 

For more information regarding this process, please contact the ACT Test Center at Calhoun Community College; below you will find a phone number and email address.

 

Calhoun Community College – can be reached by email at actcenter@calhoun.edu or by phone at 256-306-2522.



IMPORTANT NOTICE – June 11, 2020 

TO:           All Law Enforcement Agency Heads

FROM:     Chief R. Alan Benefield, Executive Secretary

DATE:       June 11, 2020

SUBJECT: Required COVID-19 testing for applicants after enrollment in the law enforcement academy

Effective immediately, in an effort to prevent the introduction of COVID-19 into academy training facilities and minimize the risk of exposure to COVID-19 for academy class members and staff, the following procedures are implemented.

COVID-19 Testing Required: All students enrolled in an academy session are required to be tested for COVID-19 prior to reporting to the academy for the beginning of training. The protocol for this testing/reporting procedure is as follows:

  1. The employing agency shall have the applicant tested for COVID-19 within fourteen (14) days of the academy start date.
  2. The report of a negative COVID-19 test shall be submitted by the employing agency to the academy not less than five (5) days before the session start date.
  3. An applicant who tests positive for COVID-19 will not be admitted to the academy class. The applicant may be rescheduled for a future class. If an applicant tests positive for COVID-19, the employing agency shall notify the academy and APOST HQ in Montgomery of the positive test results. CDC guidelines require that a person testing positive for COVID-19 is to be quarantined for fourteen (14) days. Therefore, an applicant testing positive in these circumstances will not be allowed to be retested for the purposes of academy admission for the scheduled session since he/she will be unable to meet the CDC guidelines. CDC employment guidelines should then be followed with the employing agency.
  4. Applicants’ restriction of movement. After taking the COVID-19 test, applicants shall immediately implement a self-controlled plan of restricted movement. This includes, but is not limited to, daily temperature checks, the use of face coverings, remaining at least six (6) feet apart from other person(s), staying out of groups and/or crowded places. These and other restrictions on personal association and movement are to be followed until completion/graduation of the academy training program. Failure to follow this and other COVID-19 academy protocols, whether required by the Commission or the Academy, may result in the student-recruit being dismissed from the academy.

Click to view this official notice


IMPORTANT NOTICE – June 1, 2020

Academy Application Forms/Packages have been revised and are effective June 1, 2020. The application package and related forms may be found in the “FORMS” section of the navigation panel. Outdated and/or modified application packages and forms WILL NOT BE ACCEPTED.


IMPORTANT NOTICE – May 12, 2020

Please select the following link for changes to academy operations.

Letter to Law Enforcement Agency Heads in  Reference to Academy Operations  (May 12, 2020)


 

Below is a Corona Resource Flyer compiled by ROCIC and RISS for law enforcement officers to utilize during this pandemic situation. Click the link below to find more in-depth information about combating COVID-19.

IMPORTANT NOTICE (Click to View) – May 15, 2020

TO: All Law Enforcement Agencies

From: Chief R. Alan Benefield

Date: May 15, 2020

Subject: EMERGENCY RULE – Basic (12 Hour) Continuing Education Requirements & Previously Certified Officers 

Emergency Rule 650-X-12-.02.01ER for Continuing Education (Click to View)

650-X-12-.02.01ER Continuing Education during the COVID-19 State of Emergency. Due to the ongoing state of emergency
resulting from COVID-19, this Emergency Rule shall be effective for a minimum of 120 days unless extended by supplemental
emergency proclamation by the Governor.

(1) The Commission authorizes its Executive Secretary to adjust the regulatory requirements relating to Continuing
Education for Law Enforcement Officers. Specifically, relating to the maximum of six (6) hours currently allowed for
video, computer, multimedia, or satellite-based training, this emergency rule allows for that maximum to be increased to
twelve (12) hours. Agency heads will be allowed to approve this exception, and they will also be allowed to waive the
requirement that a training coordinator be present during the training. The agency head may approve training which does not
include a post-viewing examination, as long as the training is of the type that includes participation/accountability
protocols and provides for documentation (i.e., email, electronic certificate, etc.) upon completion of training.
Documentation shall be retained by the agency.

(2) The Commission further authorizes its Executive Secretary to waive the provisional appointment restrictions
for previously certified officers who have been out of Alabama law enforcement for more than two (2) years and less than four
(4) years until such point the said officer can attend a refresher class. The Chief Law Enforcement Officer of the
employing agency must submit a letter to the Executive Secretary requesting the waiver of provisional restrictions
and confirm that the officer has been qualified to Commission standards with his/her service weapon, that the formerly
certified officer has filed a refresher application with the Commission, and acknowledge that following their appointment,
the officer will be required to attend the first available academy refresher class. Any individual officer who receives
this waiver and fails to attend the refresher class when enrolled will be required to forfeit his/her waiver for
provisional appointment.

(3) The Commission may extend the six-month (180 days) provisional appointment time for these officers to complete
the refresher training class when it is necessary and convenient to the Commission in providing such class. Any
officer who fails to attend the first available academy refresher class for which he/she is enrolled and who has
exceeded his/her six-moth (180 days) provisional appointment time shall be required to attend the complete 520-hour basic
academy course.

Author: R. Alan Benefield, Executive Secretary
Statutory Authority: Code of Ala. 1975, §§36-21-40 et seq.
History: Effective May 15, 2020.



IMPORTANT NOTICE (Click to View) – March 18, 2020

TO: All Law Enforcement Agencies

From: Chief R. Alan Benefield, Executive Secretary

DATE: March 18, 2020

SUBJECT: EMERGENCY RULE – PROVISIONAL APPOINTMENTS – during the COVID-19 STATE of EMERGENCY

Official APOSTC Letter –  Emergency Rule March 19, 2020 (click to view)

RULE 650-X-2-.01.01ER Training during the COVID-19 State of Emergency. Due to the ongoing state of emergency resulting from COVID-19, this Emergency Rule shall be effective for a minimum of 120 days unless extended by a supplemental emergency proclamation by the Governor.

(1) The Commission authorizes its Executive Secretary to suspend the enforcement of the statutory and regulatory requirements relating to provisionally appointed law enforcement officers completing certification training within six months of his or her provisional appointment. Specifically, relating to the six (6) month provisional appointment time for applicants, this emergency rule authorizes the Executive Secretary to waive the six month (180 days) requirement for provisionally appointed law enforcement officers to complete certification training and allow them to remain in their provisional appointment. A provisionally appointed officer, and their employing agency, is required to continue to submit their application for training and certification with the Commission. All other rules and regulations relating to the provisional appointment of law enforcement officers shall remain in effect. Nothing in this emergency rule shall be construed to allow any person to perform the duties and functions of a certified law enforcement officer in the State of Alabama prior to valid certification by the Commission.

(2) During the State of Emergency, the Commission authorizes the Executive Secretary to make emergency modifications to the academy curriculum as is deemed necessary in order to facilitate the training and certification of law enforcement applicants and appointees.

Author: R. Alan Benefield, Executive Secretary
Statutory Authority: Code of Ala. 1975, §§36-21-40 et seq. History: Effective March 18, 2020.


Alabama Peace Officers’ Standards and Training Commission
P.O. Box 300075

RSA Union Building, 100 North Union Street, Suite 600

Montgomery, Alabama  36130

PHONE: (334) 242-4045

EMAIL: apostc@apostc.alabama.gov

OPEN: Mon-Fri: 8 am – 5 pm

 

(Click the map to obtain directions to the APOSTC Headquarters)