In the event that someone needs to take the BAT, Mobile, AL has availability to accommodate individuals that are in need to test in-person or by remote proctor. This is by appointment only, which can be made by calling: (251) 216-8078 or 1-877-406-0730.
Click the following link for site contacts:
The Alabama Peace Officers’ Standards and Training Commission has adopted a revised training curriculum for the Basic certification training program. The 2021 basic academy curriculum is now 560 hours and is scheduled to be taught over a 14-week period.
The 2021 curriculum for the Lateral/Refresher program has been expanded from 95 hours to 120 hours and will be taught over a three-week period.
The 2021 academy training schedules have been adjusted to reflect the required curriculum. There is no increase in academy tuition for 2021.
PSYCHOLOGICAL EVALUATION REQUIRED FOR ALL APPLICANTS:
The Alabama Peace Officers’ Standards and Training Commission (Commission) has amended the Alabama Administrative Code (Peace Officers), RULE 650-X-2-.04 PHYSICAL EXAMINATIONS AND PSYCHOLOGICAL EVALUATIONS, to require all academy applicants, both basic and lateral/refresher applicants, to submit to a psychological evaluation conducted by a Licensed Behavioral Health Professional. This requirement is effective with all applications submitted to the Commission on or after January 1, 2021. The Commission adopted APOST Form Number 3B, Psychological Evaluation, which is required to be submitted with each application. The complete text of the regulation is attached and can also be found on the APOSTC website.
The Physical Examinations requirement has been amended to comply with current statutes as to who is authorized to conduct physical examinations. APOST Form Number 3, Physical Examination, has been re-numbered to APOST Form Number 3A.
The Forms can be found on the APOSTC web site in the navigation panel.
RULE 650-X-2-.04 PHYSICAL EXAMINATIONS AND PSYCHOLOGICAL EVALUATIONS.
Should the report of the examining professional provide a recommendation other than “Recommended for employment/appointment as a law enforcement officer,” and the employing agency submits to the Commission an Application for Certification of the individual notwithstanding said recommendation, then the employing agency must provide documented, supplemental information to the Commission to support and validate the fitness of the applicant to be certified as a law enforcement officer.
TO: All Law Enforcement Agencies
From: Chief R. Alan Benefield
Date: May 15, 2020
Subject: EMERGENCY RULE – Basic (12 Hour) Continuing Education Requirements & Previously Certified Officers
650-X-12-.02.01ER Continuing Education during the COVID-19 State of Emergency. Due to the ongoing state of emergency
resulting from COVID-19, this Emergency Rule shall be effective for a minimum of 120 days unless extended by supplemental
emergency proclamation by the Governor.
(1) The Commission authorizes its Executive Secretary to adjust the regulatory requirements relating to Continuing
Education for Law Enforcement Officers. Specifically, relating to the maximum of six (6) hours currently allowed for
video, computer, multimedia, or satellite-based training, this emergency rule allows for that maximum to be increased to
twelve (12) hours. Agency heads will be allowed to approve this exception, and they will also be allowed to waive the
requirement that a training coordinator be present during the training. The agency head may approve training which does not
include a post-viewing examination, as long as the training is of the type that includes participation/accountability
protocols and provides for documentation (i.e., email, electronic certificate, etc.) upon completion of training.
Documentation shall be retained by the agency.
(2) The Commission further authorizes its Executive Secretary to waive the provisional appointment restrictions
for previously certified officers who have been out of Alabama law enforcement for more than two (2) years and less than four
(4) years until such point the said officer can attend a refresher class. The Chief Law Enforcement Officer of the
employing agency must submit a letter to the Executive Secretary requesting the waiver of provisional restrictions
and confirm that the officer has been qualified to Commission standards with his/her service weapon, that the formerly
certified officer has filed a refresher application with the Commission, and acknowledge that following their appointment,
the officer will be required to attend the first available academy refresher class. Any individual officer who receives
this waiver and fails to attend the refresher class when enrolled will be required to forfeit his/her waiver for
(3) The Commission may extend the six-month (180 days) provisional appointment time for these officers to complete
the refresher training class when it is necessary and convenient to the Commission in providing such class. Any
officer who fails to attend the first available academy refresher class for which he/she is enrolled and who has
exceeded his/her six-moth (180 days) provisional appointment time shall be required to attend the complete 520-hour basic
Author: R. Alan Benefield, Executive Secretary
Statutory Authority: Code of Ala. 1975, §§36-21-40 et seq.
History: Effective May 15, 2020.